AWARDS: Our 2020 Winners

SOUND OF METAL Courtesy of Amazon Studios

The ballots have been counted for the Greater Western New York Film Critics Association’s third annual end-of-year Film Awards. We’ve chosen the below films as our collective favorites after engaging in a weighted scale voting process for Best Picture and fifteen other major categories. Potential titles/artists were restricted to those films released theatrically in the United States during the 2020 calendar year (with a few exceptions due to pandemic considerations).

Leading the way are NOMADLAND (6 wins), SOUND OF METAL (4 wins), and MINARI (2 wins).

The 2020 GWNYFCA Film Awards WINNERS:

Best Picture:

Photo Courtesy of Samuel Goldwyn Films

Best Foreign Language Film:

Best Animated Film:

Best Documentary:

Best Director:

  • Spike Lee, Da 5 Bloods
  • Darius Marder, Sound of Metal
  • Steve McQueen, Small Axe: Lovers Rock
  • Kelly Reichardt, First Cow
  • Chloé Zhao, Nomadland – **WINNER**
Dick Johnson in Dick Johnson is Dead. Cr. Courtesy of Netflix / 2020

Lead Actor:

  • Riz Ahmed, Sound of Metal – **WINNER**
  • Chadwick Boseman, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  • Anthony Hopkins, The Father
  • Delroy Lindo, Da 5 Bloods
  • Steven Yeun, Minari

Lead Actress:

  • Viola Davis, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  • Sidney Flanigan, Never Rarely Sometimes Always
  • Vanessa Kirby, Pieces of a Woman
  • Frances McDormand, Nomadland – **WINNER**
  • Carey Mulligan, Promising Young Woman

Supporting Actor:

Supporting Actress:

  • Maria Bakalova, Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
  • Ellen Burstyn, Pieces of a Woman
  • Olivia Colman, The Father
  • Amanda Seyfried, Mank
  • Youn Yuh-jung, Minari – **WINNER**
MANK (2020) Amanda Seyfried as Marion Davies and Gary Oldman as Herman Mankiewicz. Cr: NETFLIX

Original Screenplay:

  • Hannah Bos & Paul Thureen, Driveways
  • Lee Isaac Chung, Minari
  • Emerald Fennell, Promising Young Woman
  • Eliza Hittman, Never Rarely Sometimes Always – **WINNER**
  • Darius Marder & Abraham Marder (story by Darius Marder & Derek Cianfrance), Sound of Metal

Adapted Screenplay:

  • Eleanor Catton, Emma.
  • Christopher Hampton & Florian Zeller, The Father
  • Jonathan Raymond & Kelly Reichardt, First Cow
  • Charlie Kaufman, I’m Thinking of Ending Things
  • Chloé Zhao, Nomadland – **WINNER**

Best Cinematography:

  • Christopher Blauvelt, First Cow
  • Erik Messerschmidt, Mank
  • Martin Ruhe, The Midnight Sky
  • Joshua James Richards, Nomadland – **WINNER**
  • Shabier Kirchner, Small Axe: Lovers Rock

Best Editing:

  • Andy Canny, The Invisible Man
  • Kirk Baxter, Mank
  • Chloé Zhao, Nomadland – **WINNER**
  • Mikkel E.G. Nielsen, Sound of Metal
  • Alan Baumgarten, The Trial of the Chicago 7

Best Score:

  • Terence Blanchard, Da 5 Bloods
  • Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, Mank
  • Alexandre Desplat, The Midnight Sky
  • Emile Mosseri, Minari
  • Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross, Soul – **WINNER**
Frances McDormand in the film NOMADLAND. Photo Courtesy of Searchlight Pictures. © 2020 20th Century Studios All Rights Reserved

Breakthrough Performance:

  • Kiera Allen, Run
  • Sidney Flanigan, Never Rarely Sometimes Always
  • Paul Raci, Sound of Metal – **WINNER**
  • Talia Ryder, Never Rarely Sometimes Always
  • Isabel Sandoval, Lingua Franca

Breakthrough Director:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s