AWARDS: Our 2019 Winners


The ballots have been counted for the Greater Western New York Film Critics Association’s second annual end-of-year Film Awards. We’ve chosen the below films as our collective favorites after engaging in a weighted scale voting process for Best Picture and fifteen other major categories. Potential titles/artists were restricted to those films released theatrically in the United States during the 2019 calendar year.

Leading the way are MARRIAGE STORY (5 wins), THE IRISHMAN (2 wins), and PARASITE (2 wins).

The 2019 GWNYFCA Film Awards Winners:

Best Picture:


Best Foreign Language Film:

  • The Farewell (United States)
  • Pain & Glory (Spain)
  • Parasite (South Korea) – **WINNER**
  • Portrait of a Lady on Fire (France)
  • Transit (Germany)

Best Animated Film:

Best Documentary:

Best Director:

  • Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story
  • James Gray, Ad Astra
  • Bong Joon-ho, Parasite – **WINNER**
  • Céline Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire
  • Martin Scorsese, The Irishman

Lead Actor:

  • Antonio Banderas, Pain & Glory
  • Adam Driver, Marriage Story – **WINNER**
  • Joaquin Phoenix, Joker
  • Brad Pitt, Ad Astra
  • Adam Sandler, Uncut Gems

Lead Actress:

  • Awkwafina, The Farewell
  • Adéle Haenel, Portrait of a Lady on Fire
  • Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story – **WINNER**
  • Noémie Merlant, Portrait of a Lady on Fire
  • Sienna Miller, American Woman
  • Lupita Nyong’o, Us

Supporting Actor:

  • Willem Dafoe, The Lighthouse
  • Song Kang-ho, Parasite
  • Al Pacino, The Irishman
  • Joe Pesci, The Irishman – **WINNER**
  • Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood

Supporting Actress:


Original Screenplay:

  • Lulu Wang, The Farewell
  • Noah Baumbach, Marriage Story – **WINNER**
  • Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood
  • Bong Joon-ho & Han Jin-won (story by Bong Joon-ho), Parasite
  • Céline Sciamma, Portrait of a Lady on Fire

Adapted Screenplay:

  • Micah Fitzerman-Blue & Noah Harpster, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
  • Steven Zaillian, The Irishman – **WINNER**
  • Taika Waititi, Jojo Rabbit
  • Greta Gerwig, Little Women
  • J.C. Lee & Julius Onah, Luce

Best Cinematography:

  • Hoyte Van Hoytema, Ad Astra
  • Jarin Blaschke, The Lighthouse
  • Robert Richardson, Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood
  • Hong Kyung-pyo, Parasite
  • Claire Mathon, Portrait of a Lady on Fire – **WINNER**

Best Editing:

  • Todd Douglas Miller, Apollo 11
  • Thelma Schoonmaker, The Irishman
  • Fred Raskin, Once Upon a Time … In Hollywood
  • Yang Jin-mo, Parasite
  • Ronald Bronstein & Benny Safdie, Uncut Gems – **WINNER**

Best Score:

  • Max Richter, Ad Astra
  • Robbie Robertson, The Irishman
  • Alexandre Desplat, Little Women
  • Randy Newman, Marriage Story – **WINNER**
  • Michael Abels, Us

Breakthrough Performance:

  • Jimmie Fails, The Last Black Man in San Francisco
  • Julia Fox, Uncut Gems
  • Zach Gottsagen, The Peanut Butter Falcon
  • Roman Griffin Davis, Jojo Rabbit
  • Zhao Shuzhen, The Farewell – **WINNER**

Breakthrough Director:

  • Mati Diop, Atlantics
  • Melina Matsoukas, Queen & Slim
  • Tyler Nilson & Michael Schwartz, The Peanut Butter Falcon
  • Joe Talbot, The Last Black Man in San Francisco
  • Olivia Wilde, Booksmart – **WINNER**


One thought on “AWARDS: Our 2019 Winners

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s